National Institute of Health Research

Our people

The Efficacy and Mechanism Evaluation Programme calls on the expertise, knowledge and opinion of a large number of people to ensure that the identification of research areas and funding decisions are chosen in a clear and fair way.

The EME Strategy Group advises the EME Programme Director on identification, development and prioritisation of research areas for advertisement through the commissioned workstream. In addition, it prioritises outline proposals received to the commissioned workstream for shortlisting by the EME Board.

The EME Board assesses outline and full proposals and makes funding decisions for the researcher-led workstream, and makes funding recommendations to the Department of Health for the commissioned workstream.

Our Programme Director

Tom WalleyProfessor Tom Walley CBE, has been Programme Director of the EME Programme since its inception in 2008. He is also Director of NIHR Evaluation, Trials and Studies and Chair of the EME Strategy Group.

He is Professor of Clinical Pharmacology at Liverpool University and also works as a Consultant Physician at the Royal Liverpool University Hospital.

He formerly headed a research group at Liverpool University, focusing on drug prescribing, pharmaceutical policy, and clinical effectiveness and cost-effectiveness.

In June 2008, he was awarded a CBE by the Queen for his services to medicine.

Chair of the EME Board

David Crossman

Professor David Crossman, is Bute Professor of Medicine and the Dean and Head of Faculty of Medicine at University of St. Andrews, and Honorary Consultant Cardiologist for NHS Fife Health Board.

His previous appointments include Head of the School of Medicine at the Norwich Medical School, UEA, Director of the NIHR Cardiovascular Biomedical Research Centre and Professor of Clinical Cardiology at the University of Sheffield.  

He has served on the EME Board (2010-2015) as well as the Wellcome Trust Expert Review Group – Physiology in Health and Disease (2010-2014), British Heart Foundation Chairs and Programme Grants Committee (2004-2009), MRC Physiological Systems and Clinical Sciences Board (2004-2008), as Vice President of Education and Research and Chair of Programme Committee for the British Cardiovascular Society (2006-2008). He was on the cardiovascular panel of RAE 2008 and Unit of assessment panel 1 in REF 2014.

His research interests centre on the inflammatory basis of atherosclerosis and the pathogenesis of myocardial infarction.

Our Board and Strategy Group members

EME Board

Professor David Crossman

Dean and Head of School of Medicine
University of St Andrews

Deputy Chair
Professor Carl Clarke Professor of Clinical Neurology
Department of Neurology
Sandwell and West Birmingham Hospitals
Member (non-voting)
Professor Tom Walley CBE
Director, EME Programme
Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics 
University of Liverpool
Professor Eric AltonProfessor of Gene Therapy and Respiratory Medicine
Imperial College London
Dr Simon Bond Senior Statistician from Cambridge Clinical Trials Unit, Addenbrooke’s Hospital
Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 
Dr Louise BrownSenior Statistician
MRC Clinical Trials Unit
University College London
Professor Bill Deakin Professor of Psychiatry and Director NPU
Manchester University
Professor Anthony DorlingProfessor of Transplant Inflammation and Repair
MRC Centre for Transplantation
King’s College London
Professor Janet DunnProfessor of Clinical Trials & Head of Cancer Trials
University of Warwick 

Mr Stephen Edgar

Public board member
Professor Carrol Gamble Reader Medical Statistics
University of Liverpool 
Professor Paula Ghaneh Professor of Surgery
University of Liverpool, Honorary Consultant Surgeon in Hepatobiliary Surgery
Royal Liverpool University Hospital 
Professor Fiona Gilbert 

Consultant Radiologist
Head of Department of Radiology at the University of Cambridge
Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Robert HillsSenior Lecturer in Translational Statistics
Department of Hematology
Cardiff University
Professor Andrew HughesProfessor of Experimental Cancer Medicine
The Christie NHS Foundation Trust
University of Manchester
Professor Mark Hull

Professor of Molecular Gastroenterology
Leeds Institute of Molecular Medicine
St James's University Hospital

Professor Ajit LalvaniDirector of Tuberculosis Research Centre
National Heart and Lung Institute
Imperial College London
Professor Sally MarshallProfessor of Diabetes
Institute of Cellular Medicine (Diabetes)
Newcastle University
Mr Richard Parnell Public board member 
Professor Susan PavittProfessor in Applied Health Research
Leeds Institute of Health Sciences
University of Leeds
Professor John Petrie Professor of Diabetic Medicine
University of Glasgow 
Professor David ReidChair of Rheumatology
School of Medicine and Dentistry
University of Aberdeen
Dr Duncan RichardsVice President
Clinical Head GSK Academic DPU
Professor Robert Storey Professor and Honorary Consultant in Cardiology
Medical School, University of Sheffield
Professor Steve Thornton Vice Principal (Health) and Executive Dean
Queen Mary University of London 
Professor Frank SullivanProfessor of Family and Community Medicine
University of St Andres

EME Strategy Group

Professor Tom Walley CBE
Director, EME Programme
Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics
University of Liverpool

Professor Christopher Chamberlain
VP Experimental Medicine and Diagnostics
Professor Carl Clarke
Professor of Clinical Neurology and Honorary Consultant Neurologist
Sandwell and West Birmingham Hospitals NHS Trust
Professor David Crossman 

Dean and Head of School of Medicine
University of St Andrews

Professor David JayneProfessor of Surgery and Honorary Consultant Surgeon
University of Leeds
Dr Louise Jones Head of Translational Research
Medical Research Council
Professor Simon Lovestone 

Professor of Translational Neuroscience
University of Oxford Department of Psychiatry
Warneford Hospital, Oxford 

Mr Allen Knight
Public board member


Our community of reviewers play a vital part in maintaining and improving the quality of the EME Programme projects and outputs. They are sought from a variety of fields, including from those who work in and use NHS services. To demonstrate our gratitude to our reviewers and acknowledge the important work they do for the programme the names of the past year’s reviewers are listed below.

View a list of EME 2015 reviewers.


NIHR Journals Library

Join mailing list

To receive funding alerts and other programme news, please join our mailing list.

Sign up

NIHR on Twitter

Make a research suggestion

Complete our online web form to make a research suggestion to our programmes.

Research suggestion?

Sign in to MIS

Login to the NETSCC Management Information System (MIS).


Share this page